Review: L’Oreal Extraordinary Clay Hair System

I’M ALIIIIIIIVE!!!

Oh my goodness. I really haven’t posted in the longest time. Not that anyone was really missing me to be honest, but fear not – I’m back. And this time with a review!

I’ve talked about my super oily hair before, when I tried out Clairol’s Hair Food Root Cleansing Shampoo a little over a year ago. I mentioned that the price of the product ($9.99 for shampoo alone) for results that weren’t exactly mind-blowing was keeping me from repurchasing, and since I finished that bottle, I haven’t bought another one. Instead, I switched over to Tresemme’s Undone Waves Shampoo and Conditioner because I love beachy waves, and I also just accepted the fact of life that no matter what kind of shampoo I used, my hair would stay getting oily after a day.

Then one day I was walking around Target – my usual boredom-boosting activity, honestly – and I saw this brand new system: L’Oreal Paris’ Extraordinary Clay Rebalancing system for oily roots and dry ends. It claims to keep roots oil free, but the lengths of your hair hydrated for 48 straight hours, which seemed almost too good to be true, so I took a picture of the shampoo and conditioner and went home to look up reviews of it myself.

If you Google the system, reviews from Amazon, Influenster, retailers and even MakeupAlley, which is notably honest and critical, gave the system over 4/5 star ratings. I was kind of surprised, but it was a good sign, so I bought the shampoo and conditioner with a coupon ($4.99 each without discount), and then got the clay mask a few days later ($5.99) and tried it for myself.

The first step in the system is the Extraordinary Clay hair mask. According to L’Oreal’s product description on the package, it is their “1st purifying pre-shampoo clay mask. Used before your shampoo, , it deeply absorbs impurities and excess oil at the root, for long-lasting fresh, beautiful hair.” Which sounds pretty awesome tbh. I don’t have any experience with hair masks unless it’s coconut oil being massaged into my hair with a shower cap on top. Actually, there was another DIY experience involving olive oil in high school that didn’t work out too well, but we don’t talk about that 🙂

FullSizeRender (6)
I forgot to take a picture of the mask itself, I have failed you all

Following the directions, I applied the light blue clay to my roots all over my head and left it on for 5 minutes as instructed. It’s kind of weird to touch when you first dip your fingers into the pot – it’s like bouncy, airy consistency. On my oily ass roots the clay feels cooling as it’s doing its work, and it smells fresh and clean.

IMG_1009
The clay on my grease ball of hair

Next I got in the shower, rinsed out the mask, then used the shampoo and conditioner, which are the same smell and as the mask. I was actually a little surprised by the shampoo; it was a creme while I’m used to shampoos for oily hair being clarifying and therefore, clear. I wasn’t quite sure how to use the conditioner – and I know that sounds really stupid. What I mean is, since the conditioner is part of a system that rebalances your hair, do you have to apply it to your roots or to your ends (I usually do the latter)? It took a couple tries, but I ended up going with my usual routine of applying shampoo then following that with the conditioner, leaving both in for about 5 minutes, then rinsing.

IMG_2593

After some prolonged use (I bought this originally at end of March), I’ve found that blow drying produces longer results than letting my hair air dry after getting out of the shower. But with all that being said, I can’t really tell if there’s any real difference in how long it takes for my hair to start getting gross and disgusting again. It might be a little more than a day and a half, but it definitely isn’t perfectly fresh after 2 full days like advertised. Maybe on people with less oily hair types, but definitely not me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That being said, it smells pretty awesome and it makes my hair feel fresh, flowing and soft. Some people wonder if there’s any real difference if you use the shampoo and conditioner without the hair mask, but honestly I think that’s what’s keeping your scalp from producing so much oil. It’s like a setting powder for your hair, so to speak. I definitely don’t hate it, but I think at the end of the day my hair is simply oily and there’s nothing much I can do about it.

Rating: 3.5/5

**Disclaimer: I bought these products with my own money and of my own accord. I am not being sponsored or paid in any way for this post.

Leave a Reply

