Look Spectacular: Basic Makeup for Glasses

I’ve been wearing glasses since I was in about 4th grade, which was almost 10 years ago. It started out as only wearing them to see the chalkboard, but gradually turned into me having to wear them full time. I have myopia, which means that my nearsightedness gets worse as I get older, so just about every waking moment includes me wearing my glasses unless the activity I’m doing is taking place less than a foot and a half away from my face.

I’ve considered just getting contacts, but I realized that I don’t think I could be bothered to change them, or poke myself in the eye regularly, or deal with what would happen in the hypothetical situation that I drop a contact within a crowd or something. I figured I’d just deal with wearing glasses that never looked as good as I wanted them to on my face, and put up with putting them on every morning and taking them off every night.

A few months ago, I finally got a brand new pair of glasses at Lenscrafters (see above pic) after getting an updated prescription, and if you ask me (even though you didn’t and I’m telling you just because), I think they’re the best pair I’ve ever owned. Even my sister agrees that they’re very fitting for my face shape. I’ve usually been told that I look better without my glasses (aside from one time someone told me I look better with them on…yikes), but this time I think I look pretty good either way. I’m a lot more confident knowing that my glasses match my style and personality AND are flattering.

Long intro aside, after I got this new pair, I was wearing winged liner one day and my sister looked at me and went, “WOW your eyeliner looks GREAT with those glasses.” And then she suggested that I do a makeup tutorial onΒ how to wear makeup with glasses. And now here we are! I did a bunch of research all over the interwebs and as someone who has struggled with trying to figure out what kind of makeup looks really poppin’ on glasses, I think I can say IT REALLY WORKS!! So let’s get into it. (Just a note: this is a full face look, but you can take the tips to create a lighter, less product heavy look.)

Oh wait, before we actually do anything, here’s an ugly, dead looking before pic:

IMG_5063
I need to get my eyebrows threaded again, please don’t judge me

And some cute after selfies I took:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So how to get this look – first thing’s first, foundation. A long-wearing foundation is best to keep your glasses from sliding all over the place. A cool tip I found online was to put eyeshadow primer on the bridge of your nose to keep your specs from sliding down – it’s a genius tip and it works! I used my trusty CoverGirl Outlast 3-in-1 foundation in Golden Tan and used Black Radiance Perfecting Eye Primer on my nose. (Black Radiance is a really great drugstore brand catered to women of color, specifically Black women, that’s super affordable – this eye primer was only $3 at Walmart, and it’s just as good as UD Primer Potion, although not vegan.) Now if I had a color corrector, I would have neutralized my dark circles first, but I don’t so I just went straight into concealing them with Maybelline’s Fit Me! Concealer.

Next I did my eyebrows, using Anastasia Dip Brow Pomade in Dark Brown. From what the internet says, your eyebrows frame your glasses, so it’s important to define them and make them ~on fleek~. And even if you don’t wear glasses, you should define your brows a little bit because they do, in fact, frame your face.

After my brows I did my eye makeup. I started with the Black Radiance Eye Primer, then used Maybelline Color Tattoo in Barely Branded as a shimmery base, because apparently champagne colors bring light toward your eyes behind glasses. I added definition to my creases using Faint from the Urban Decay Naked Basics palette. I went over the shimmer base with the shade 02 from the NYC Lovatics by Demi Lovato eyeshadow palette to add more of shimmer to my lids. For browbone highlight and inner corner highlight I used Venus from the Naked Basics palette. I did winged liner using the Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper. On my waterline I used Maybelline Eye Studio Master Drama cream pencil in Midnight Master. For my lashes I used L’Oreal Paris’ Butterfly Waterproof Mascara. This mascara’s pretty awesome, since it actually holds a curl and doesn’t transfer underneath your eye and really makes your eyes look bigger, especially for if you wear glasses and your eyes get hidden. And it doesn’t flake! Hallelujah.

On to the rest of my face: I did a bit of contouring. I warmed up my face using NYX Matte Bronzer in Medium, then went in with the dark contour shade from BH Cosmetics’ Contour & Blush 2 palette in the hollows of my cheeks and on my jawline. For highlight, I tapped ColourPop’s Wisp around where the frames of my glasses end in addition to the tops of my cheekbones and nose to bring more light toward my eyes. I also put some highlighter at my cupids bow, center of my forehead, and the center of my chin. To top it off, I blended the darkest blush color from BH Cosmetics Contour & Blush 2 onto the apples of my cheeks for a healthy dose of color onto this otherwise neutral look.

And simply for my lips, I used NYX Matte Lip Cream in Cannes. To finish everything off I sprayed ELF’s Setting Spray all over my face.

IMG_5132

And that’s it! Next time I do one of these I’ll have step by step pictures, I promise, because no doubt about it I have other looks in mind. Hope you can take something, anything, out of this, and maybe stick around for more πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

