Review: Clairol Hair Food Root Cleansing Shampoo

Let’s get this out of the way: I’ve got oily hair. After maybe a day, day and a half, my hair starts looking like Professor Snape. It’s awful and kind of gross and uncomfortable, among other things. But the thing is, I can’t wash it every day, because if I do it will strip the hair of all the moisture and oils that I actually need and leave it vulnerable to damage. That, and dry shampoo really only does so much for me. Or so all these beauty websites tell  me. I’m not really as much of a hair aficionado as I am one for makeup.

BUT. I try to be on the lookout for clarifying products, since I use a beach spray probably every day and sometimes that plus my regularly scheduled oil-production makes for even more buildup and unmanageable and limp strands.

IMG_2019
Before taking the plunge for the first time

This is where we bring out Clairol’s Hair Food brand, specifically their Root Cleaning Shampoo Infused with Strawberry and Ginger Fragrance. God, what a mouthful. This is also another one of my Cartwheel buys, because I really can’t stop singing my praises for Target and this app. The entire Hair Food collection was 40% off with Cartwheel (right now it’s currently 20% until May 14!), so naturally I Googled what products I’d potentially be interested in buying and came across this shampoo. It was calling my name. So I took myself to Target and bought it, not knowing that the original price was actually $9.99. I don’t normally spend over $5 for my shampoo. I’m too poor for that.

It’s a good thing I had a coupon though because if I didn’t, I probably wouldn’t have bought it.

IMG_2021
What my roots tend to look like after a day. It’s gross, I know. Sorry.

That being said, over the last couple of weeks, I’ve been using this regularly. And honestly, for something being sold at a retail price of $10, I’m not exactly blown away. The shampoo isn’t bad by any means, but it doesn’t make my hair feel any different than it does when I use a cheaper clarifying shampoo. I guess the good part of it is that the shampoo is silicone-free, mineral oil-free, and paraben-free, which makes it different from most mainstream shampoos. However, it is NOT sulfate free, which might be the reason why my hair still kind of feels like a little bit dry when I use it, even with a conditioner.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
This packaging is hella cute though.

The best part about this though is by far the scent. Ugh, this stuff has such a warm, relaxing scent. I don’t know much about fragrance and perfume, but the mix of ginger and strawberries – and apparently orange and camellia, going off the ingredients list – makes taking a hot shower all that more refreshing and luxurious. With the thick, gel consistency of the product, it might be better as a body wash. (Although not gonna lie, this makes my hair smell AWESOME.)

Bottom line, I probably won’t buy this again. I know there’s a lot of people who swear by this shampoo for their oily hair, but I’m not so sure it’s for me.

**Disclaimer: I am in no way being paid or sponsored by Clairol. I bought this product with my own money on my own accord and all opinions are my own.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Wow just by you describing the scent makes me want to buy it! I’ll see if I can pick one up at Target and try it. :)))

    Like

Leave a Reply

