Review/Swatches + Demo: NYC Lovatics by Demi Lovato Eyeshadow Palette

In terms of makeup, I don’t tend to give too much attention to palettes from drugstore brands since, if I’m being honest, they usually kind of suck. It’s just not even worth my money to have so many eyeshadows, blushes, bronzers, lip glosses, etc. in one package if they come out chalky and splotchy.

IMG_2207

A quick visit to Target one day changed my mind. I saw Demi Lovato’s (who I admire a lot as a person) collection with cheapie brand NYC and was immediately drawn to the eyeshadow palette and the lip and cheek tints. I didn’t buy it that day, but I Googled it and found that the collection as a whole had actually received some rave reviews from beauty bloggers. Some had said it could even be a dupe for Urban Decay’s iconic staple, the OG Naked palette, since it looked to have the same shade range and number of shadows.

FullSizeRender (6)

So I checked the Cartwheel (which is a brilliant and FREE app for Target fans, by the way) to prepare for my next trip to Tar-jay and saw that the entire Lovatics collection was 10% off with the in-app coupon and to make things better, you can use that discount multiple times! I headed to my local Target after class and picked up the palette. It was originally priced at $6.99 USD, but with the discount it was only $6.30, and although it’s not much, saving money is saving money. And if you’re a broke college student like me who isn’t particularly willing to shell out $54 for a Naked palette, $6.30 isn’t bad at all.

The palette itself features a very good mix of warm, neutral, and cool shades so that anyone can work with it, along with a variety of finishes – satin, matte, shimmer/metallic. The colors don’t actually have names, but are numbered from 1 to 12 in order from darkest to lightest. The back of the palette also includes suggestions on how to group those shades together on your eyes using that number system.

IMG_2208

The best part about all of this is that as a whole, this palette is AWESOME. Unlike other drugstore eyeshadow palettes, this isn’t chalky at all! With one swipe using the sponge applicators, you get a really great color payoff. And for $7? Even better! My wallet has never been happier. Below, I break down each of the colors complete with swatches. It’s important to note that none of these have a base underneath, making the palette that much more impressive.

The only real negative thing I have to say is that I wish the container had a mirror, but you get what you pay for I suppose. I’m a little scared that the plastic packaging is going to fall apart faster than usual, but I guess we’ll have to see how this palette lasts in the long run.

FullSizeRender (7)
L to R: Shades 1, 2, 3 and 4
IMG_2213
L to R (on my arm): 1, 2, 3 and 4

Shade #1: This is a surprisingly opaque neutral cream satin.

Shade #2: A neutral metallic light pink. I’m such a sucker for metallics, and I’m so sad the picture doesn’t do this color justice.

Shade #3: This is a warmer beige matte. As you can see, it practically blends in with my skin, which makes it the perfect nude and base color for me 🙂

Shade #4: THIS ONE IS SO SMOOTH! It’s a beautiful warm metallic beige-pink, rose gold if you will. It reminded me of a color you might see in a sunset.

IMG_2215
L to R: Shades 5, 6, 7, and 8
IMG_2216
L to R (on my arm): 5, 6, 7, 8

Shade #5: A more cool-toned matte taupe color. Swatched buttery smooth. (Okay maybe not quite like butter, but it wasn’t chalky at all.)

Shade #6: Warm metallic gold with rosy-pink undertones. The metallic shades in this palette are so, so beautiful.

Shade #7: Metallic cool taupe. Another beautiful color, it flecks between being a dark brown and a beige depending on the light.

Shade #8: This is probably my favorite out of the whole palette. It’s a neutral brown shimmery satin. The swatch looks matte, but in the pan it glitters a little, although it’s not metallic. The pigmentation on this was so impressive, and I’ll probably be getting the most wear out of it.

IMG_2219
L to R: 9, 10, 11, and 12
FullSizeRender (8)
L to R: 9, 10, 11, and 12

Shade #9: Neutral pink-brown with gold flecks. I think it leans more on the satin side than metallic. If this was a blush color, it would be gorgeous.

Shade #10: Neutral matte brown that would be great as a transition color. Again, no chalkiness at all here.

Shade #11: This is a cool metallic charcoal, although the swatch looks matte. I was especially impressed by these last two shades. Drugstore palettes tend not to get blacks and grays right. There’s never any pigment, they’re streaky, chalky, too much chunky glitter – aka disappointment. BUT THIS. This palette got it. Although it’s not as pigmented as black/charcoal shadows from other brands like UD are, this one is actually usable!

Shade #12: Cool blue gray satin. This one really knocked it out of the park, for reasons seen in #11. Just amazing.

And there you have it! I also decided to create a look with some of the colors in the palette.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Not gonna lie to you, I got a lot of nice selfies out of this.

Products Used:

Face: Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser, CoverGirl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 foundation in Golden Tan, Benefit Watt’s Up Highlighter, NYX Matte Bronzer in Medium, MAC Eyeshadow in Corduroy (for contour), a blush from one of those dreaded drugstore palettes.

Eyes: Anastasia Beverly Hills Dip Brow Pomade in Dark Brown, elf Studio Eye Primer & Liner Sealer, Milani Total Lash Cover Mascara, NYC Lovatics by Demi Lovato Eyeshadow Palette (using the shades 2, 3, 6, 8, and 10), Maybelline Eye Studio Master Drama Eyeliner in Black (used on waterline)

Lips: Rimmel London Lasting Finish Matte Lipstick by Kate Moss in 104 Rossetto

*Disclaimer: All opinions are my own. I bought the products mentioned with my own money and I am not being sponsored in any way for this post.

Leave a Reply

